President – Louis St. John


Lou has been involved with the New Bedford Educators Association for the past 35 years.  He started his relationship with the Association as a New Bedford Public School Teacher.  Prior to becoming the President of NBEA he served as NBEA Vice President for Unit A, Grievance Committee Chairperson, Workforce Investment Board, and as the Public Relations Chairperson. In addition to currently serving as President of NBEA, Lou also serves on the New Bedford Public Employees Health Insurance Committee, Arnold Dubin Labor Education Center Advisory Board, Greater Southeastern Massachusetts Labor Council, New Bedford Coalition to Save our Schools, Health and Safety Committee Chairperson, Macer Committee Chairperson, and the Dental Committee.  He is also the NBEA Webmaster.


First Vice President – Christopher Garcia

Vice President (Unit A) – Chuck Lapre


Chuck Lapre has earned four Massachusetts Professional Educator’s Licenses and is in his eleventh year of teaching Grade 8 Social Studies at Roosevelt Middle School. During his thirty year career in education, Chuck has held a variety of positions.  While working for the Fairhaven Public Schools, he served as a social studies teacher at the Hastings Middle School and the Lead Teacher/Coordinator of the At-Risk Program at Fairhaven High School.  Chuck was also a radio host and news anchor/reporter in the New Bedford and Providence markets.  He occasionally hosts public events, including some of the activities sponsored by the NBEA.

Vice President (Unit B) – Jeff Longo

Secretary and Treasurer – Kim Pearson